RE: Millan

Yeah, that’s my reading of him also. When I watch his show, I find myself thinking, “well duh, stupid human, of course your dog is a psycho. You let it be the damn pack leader.” Obviously, those mean thoughts are directed toward the owners. Maybe I should’ve been a dog whisperer. Nah, I would’ve killed half of my clients by now. People just don’t seem to get that dogs aren’t humans. (Dogs, on the other paw, probably are grateful they’re not! J)

Still, even angelic Lilly has developed the occasional behavioral issue over the years, most notably garbage trucks and basketballs. No one needed to tell me how to fix them. For the garbage truck, we simply sat next to one as it worked its way down a street. The crew might have been a bit spooked by us, but I didn’t give a flying fig. By the time we reached the end of the street, Lilly was getting the message crystal clearly. “Yes, those green things are big and noisy. But, I don’t need to fear them because my human obviously doesn’t.”

 In fact, the innate intelligence of dogs is a marvel. Lilly’s lead now hangs on my wheelchair. That means both her and the chair are controlled normally only through the joystick. Rarely do I even need to think about Lilly while she’s in “command mode,” because I know she’s intent on following whatever clues the chair gives her about our next move. J

 

 

 


From: malinda julien [mailto:ustk9@ustk9.com]
Sent: Monday, February 20, 2006 8:27 PM
To: ‘Scott Royall’
Subject: RE: Millan

 

I think he is a good handler and good at reading dogs.  A gift that usually is NOT going to be able to be repeated by his clients.  He is a middle of the road trainer, some neg some positive and believes in being the “leader” but not punishing all the time.  So, in my book, he is ok.

 

malinda

 


From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, February 20, 2006 6:08 PM
To: Malinda Julien
Subject: Millan

 

Just curious. What do you think of Caesar Millan?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

