FW: power cord.

(Sent to my Dell contact.)


Did you get this?

 


From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, May 15, 2006 7:28 PM
To: ‘Nancy_R_Dorr@Dell.com’
Cc: Blaise; bradgsmith@mdanderson.org; Brandon Milligan; Carol McKinney; Dianne; DSloan; Jack Davidson (jack_davidson681@yahoo.com); janis.nicol@nau.edu; John Royall; Marsha Anderson, DVM; ‘Michelle Luster’; Ming Zu (mzu@cs.uh.edu); Mom (lourez_bullock@sbcglobal.net); Richard Becton (flight@flash.net); Sakina Lanig (sakinalanig@hotmail.com); Tao Ju
Subject: FW: power cord.

 

Well, horse hockey! The new cord from Lind Electronics did arrive and partly resolved my problem. The laptop is receiving power again (thanks Darrel). However, I noticed that the power cord receptacle on the laptop is also making contact only if the cord is held In a certain position. Unfortunately, that part is soldered on the mainboard, requiring its replacement. I hate making Dell replace mainboards because of minor mechanical failures in critical areas. Then again, I know Dell refurbishes the boards for the next customer needing a replacement so I don’t feel too badly about the whole situation. J

 

Might as well dispatch another keyboard; my left control key is dead (yes, I’m a lefty). I know you must be pretty used to the praise I laud on this particular laptop, but consider this metric: this M170 has been in virtually continuous service for a full year now without a legitimately critical failure. I’ve used laptops since 1990, and IBM held the previous record of about 90 days. The repairs we’ve seen so far have been fairly typical, but none of them have taken the machine completely out of action. That’s, well, select your own superlative for it.

 

We’ll deal with the apparently-defunct AC adapter after we get the laptop fully healthy again.


From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, May 15, 2006 4:46 PM
To: Darrel Pinkston
Cc: ‘Nancy_R_Dorr@Dell.com’
Subject: power cord.

 

I sure hope that power cable arrives today. Mine just quit, and I’m down to my last few moments of battery power.

(My AC adapter has also mysteriously resigned from life.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

