Valentine & Kebartas

Sir,

I am being pointlessly harassed by one of your employees, a Mrs. Reilly. Of course I realize that harassment is pretty much the stock and trade of any collection agency such as yours. I suppose the operating theory is that, if a target is harried hard enough, they will do anything to appease your clients, including commit crimes. Unfortunately, that plan assumes the target has more than a subsistence income, and I sadly no longer do. Go ahead and “google” me on the Web so you can actually see who you’re dealing with. You can find my web site here and my blog here. Yes, I had a nice income back during my 14 years with Shell Oil. However, I haven’t even had a job interview since they started furloughing stateside information technology staff five years ago. Nobody else seems to have the courage to look beyond my wheelchair to my education and experience. The only personal income I have left is Social Security Disability, which doesn’t even cover all of my daily needs.

You may be surprised to learn that Mrs. Reilly and I haven’t actually conversed yet. All we’ve managed so far is to exchange voicemail. She claims to be unable to understand my synthesized voice. That may be, but I find it odd when high-intelligibility is the primary hallmark of Xpress-It, the program I wrote to enable me to function at Shell. In any case, I don’t definitively know which of your clients Mrs. Reilly is representing, but I imagine it’s Chase Cardservices since they are the only creditor of mine who hasn’t been cooperative. Yet, even they had no problems understanding me.

Long story short, I have nothing to help Mrs. Reilly with so she is only wasting her time and annoying me. Please call her off.

Scott Royall

One thought on “Valentine & Kebartas

  1. I can relate to your story. "Riley" as she identifies herself, as well as a few other members of the Valentine and Kebartas harassment team have been calling my grandmothers phone to try to reach me almost every day. We cannot afford caller id so we don’t "screen" our calls. They basically yell at me to pay up and so forth or else they will get a judgment against me…at least that is my understanding.  When I explain that I am disabled and no longer able to work, they don’t seem to care, and even have the nerve to say "well you will have to work eventually." I explain that I am permanently disabled and unable to work, as it is a lifelong condition. V&K do not seem to understand that they can’t get blood out of a turnip…if there are no wages coming in then then there are no wages to garnish.  They ask if I have legal council yet, which is absurd. I don’t know what to do about this situation other than just letting the calls continue. Something to pass the time at least :-) I hope you have better luck than I am having right now. Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

