Dell’s service

Marie,

Your email is interesting as proof of Dell’s recognition that its service reputation has suffered in recent years. That’s sad in the sense that it didn’t have to happen. The urge to outsource was very seductive and destructive. Oh well, we can only move forward from where we are today. Hopefully, Michael’s return to the CEO chair bodes well.

I understand what you’re saying. If you can’t find  a transaction, there’s nothing to back out.  Anyway, I just solved the mystery. Apparently, my order was stuck in checkout limbo. I wasn’t even showing anything in my shopping cart, but, when I went to checkout with a new purchase, my missing order was added to it! Bizarre!

Scott

From: marie@Dell.com [mailto:marie@Dell.com]
Sent: Tuesday, March 20, 2007 12:48 PM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: RE: Your Blog Post 3/05/07

Dear Scott,

Thank you for your email.  I apologize for my delayed response as I have been out of the office for the past few days.  I have not spoken to Ms. Dorr, nor am I familiar with Alecea Standlee,  as you have mentioned in your email.  Dell is currently engaging customer advocates to assist customers in the blogosphere with their outstanding issues.  This is the avenue in which I was able to find your blog.

As per your very valid concerns about the hardware configuration, we require our representatives to ask these qualifying questions to ensure they are setting the correct expectations and experience for our customers. 

I was, unfortunately, unable to find your missing order as well. I searched your Dell Preferred Account and did not see the $229 transaction you mentioned. Our Dell Preferred Accounts get automatic refreshes for any held amounts past a certain number of days.  This may be the reason I am unable to find the transaction.  However, please send me the order details and I will do my best to duplicate it. 

I look forward to your email response and have a great day!

Best Regards,

Marie
Dell Customer Advocate

From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Thursday, March 15, 2007 9:33 PM
To: marie
Subject: RE: Your Blog Post 3/05/07

Marie,

I’m mildly nonplused over your email. It is another small clue that suggests I’m not totally wasting my time, that’s always nice to learn. Of course, I have no way to know if you happened upon my blog on your own or if Ms. Dorr’s office pointed you in my direction. The net result is the same in an case, I seem to be gradually approaching sufficient “web mass” for people to notice me. That can only lead to good things.

If you really did read my blog, you’ll recognize the name “Alecea Standlee.” She was my guardian angel inside the Dell organization for a number of years. The                analogy that appeals the most to my “war monger” side is that  Alecea Standlee was a lot like having my own reusable AMRAAM medium-range missile. Whenever Dell screwed up, she was excellent at getting answers no matter whose door she had to camp out in front of. That’s a tough act to follow, but it could work to Dell’s best interest if you can pull it off.

Something else that you might have noticed in the blog is that I’m starting to be asked for hardware recommendations. That makes for an awkward situation when I’m having problems. It is no secret that Dell’s business model  benefits me, I literally wouldn’t still be plugging along without it. Here I am trying to run a little IT shop on a shoestring budget, and my Dell Preferred Account is the vehicle that makes it possible to get at least some of what I need. Naturally, I try to protect the credit balance as much as I can since it’ s the only credit I have left.

No, to directly answer your question, my missing-order issue wasn’t ever resolved. Ms. Dorr kept insisting that she had to had an order number. Certainly, I understood why she needed it, but that was the crux of the issue. I never received any confirmation emails even though my DPA was charged $229. That has delayed all sorts of things. I need to turn an old laptop into a network storage server to backup my web server and primary laptop. I also need to purchase a M1210 in a few months.

Scott  

From: marie@Dell.com [mailto:marie@Dell.com]
Sent: Thursday, March 15, 2007 2:20 PM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: Your Blog Post 3/05/07

Dear Scott,

My name is Marie and I work for the Dell Corporate Office in Austin, TX.  I read your blog

( http://adayinthelifeofaperson.spaces.live.com/Blog/cns!A36A9A53F986CF2E!572.entry ) regarding your questions on the online order you had placed.  My sincerest apologies if you were not assisted to a satisfactory level.  Not sure if you still have any questions on the missing order however email me directly if I can help in any way.  Thank you and have a great afternoon!

Best Regards,

Marie

Dell Customer Advocate

Email: marie@dell.com


No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 268.18.11/722 – Release Date: 3/14/2007 3:38 PM


No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 268.18.11/722 – Release Date: 3/14/2007 3:38 PM


No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 268.18.13/725 – Release Date: 3/17/2007 12:33 PM


No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 268.18.15/728 – Release Date: 3/20/2007 8:07 AM

Leave a Reply

