RE: Xpress-It

Roger that, sweetheart.

—–Original Message—–
From: Alecea Standlee [mailto:stan0504@yahoo.com]
Sent: Thursday, April 19, 2007 5:10 PM
To: Scott Royall
Subject: RE: Xpress-It

Scott,
No intention to put my nose in where it isn’t wanted.
But I would suggest your friend also contact the
disability services department at the university(s)
that Brian is interested in. If they won’t help to
work out something with the SAT folks (good comments
on that btw) or school admissions then they are
probably not going to provide the support that the kid
deserves when he is in school. My undergrad school had
a terrible disability support depeartment, but my PhD
program school is much better. Just a tip from inside
the academy…

Alecea

— Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com> wrote:

> College is pretty much a sink-or-swim proposition.
> Yes, a freshman counselor
> might look at Brian’s SAT scores (remember, it’s
> broken out by subject) and
> say something like, “hmm, he needs more math.”
> However, that’s about all the
> individual “evaluation” a college has time for.
> Again, the main function of
> the SAT is to influence admission priorities, and
> that mostly applies to
> out-of-state applicants. If Brian goes to UNJ, as I
> suspect you’d want him
> to anyway, he should have automatic priority as a
> state resident. That makes
> his SAT scores just bragging material, although no
> college is going to admit
> that.
>
>
>
> In case you don’t know, the first two years in
> college are largely devoted
> to taking what are called “core courses.” That’s
> basically things your state
> thinks all college grads should know. Think of it as
> ripping out all the
> crap learned in high school (Billy Joel was right),
> and replacing it with a
> more solid foundation. The process is tough enough
> to weed people who
> shouldn’t be in college. The one cautionary note
> I’ll pass along is that
> college instructors are virtually gods in their
> classes. They just about
> have final authority over what’s acceptable. I don’t
> see a math prof
> objecting to Brian’s math software as long as he
> shows that he is doing the
> actual work. There may be some
>
> From: joyce abrahamson
> [mailto:jabrahamson@optonline.net]
> Sent: Thursday, April 19, 2007 2:48 PM
> To: Scott Royall
> Subject: Re: Xpress-It
>
>
>
> Scott,
> Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. Sure you
> may post this.
> I was under the assumption that he needed to take
> the SATs to get into a
> college. Don’t the colleges need this to evaluate
> him? Let me know when
> the site is up. I’ll download Xpress-it.
>
> We live in Hillsdale, NJ….which is on the NY State
> border.
>
> Joyce Abrahamson
>
>
> From: Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com>
> Date: Thu, 19 Apr 2007 13:23:42 -0500
> To: ‘joyce abrahamson’ <jabrahamson@optonline.net>
> Subject: RE: Xpress-It
>
>
>
> May I post this? You are asking questions that I
> think have needed to be
> asked for a very long time.
>
>
>
> If I may ask, why are you forcing Brian to take the
> SAT? It loses all value
> three seconds after a university accepts him. That¹s
> right, the SAT is
> purely an academic admittance tool used to
> prioritize applicants. I didn¹t
> take it, and no employer has ever asked what I
> scored. Employers do ask
> about your GPA, but not your SAT score. I suspect
> they consider your GPA to
> be a much better metric of your abilities. In my
> case, they would be right
> if not for a particularly disastrous computer
> graphics class that massacred
> more than one senior¹s GPA! :O
>
>
>
> I think you need to turn your question about Brian¹s
> future around 180
> degrees. Ask yourself what Brian is going to do with
> his life if he doesn¹t
> learn to be an expert at something. Whether we like
> it or not, what we¹re
> taught does partly define who we become. It¹s true,
> college really just
> teaches you how to learn about a particular subject,
> but don¹t underestimate
> the importance of that. The unhappy truth is that,
> if Brian is to have at
> least a halfway satisfying life, care will cost
> somebody $40,000-50,000
> annually. I don¹t think you¹re wealthy so he had
> better prepare himself to
> earn a good living. After that, it literally does
> become a matter of social
> networking. I make no secret of the fact that I got
> hired because the HR
> director owed someone a favor. And, if I¹m going to
> dig my way out of my
> current dead-end, it will be because I found someone
> game to take a chance.
> Yet, I¹d have no chance without education.
>
>
>
> It figures. You try to download Xpress-It on the day
> that I¹m moving my
> website back on to Network Solutions big iron. Argh!
> In fact, my computer is
> shuffling files as I type this. My laptop is
> estimating another three hours,
> assuming that neither end barfs. Then I have to
> check it out to see if
> everything moved ok. All in all, the site should be
> available tomorrow.
> Probably tonight.
>
>
>
> Where do you live?
>
>
> From: joyce abrahamson
> [mailto:jabrahamson@optonline.net]
> Sent: Thursday, April 19, 2007 11:01 AM
> To: Scott Royall
> Subject: Re: Xpress-It
>
>
> Scott,
> I tried to download your software on Brian’s
> computer last night but
> couldn’t get to your web site. Has it changed? Are
> you having problems
> with it? Please let me know.
>
> Sorry to hear you didn’t like vacationing in
> Florida. Brian actually loves
> it. He would move there in a heartbeat. Tried
> travelling without his
> powerchair….to protect it from the airlines and to
> save the $80 per day
> Wheelchair Getaway’s charges for a rental. Won’t do
> that again. Will take
> our chances with the airlines. The manual chair
> didn’t bother Brian
> much….his sister was willing to take him anywhere
> he wanted. Problem was
> all the lifting in and out of the car. Oh well,
> live and learn.
>
> Just heard from the SAT people that they will not
> allow Brian to take the
> math portion of the SAT with his computer/math
> program. I’m waiting for the
> "official" letter before I decide what to do.
> This is discrimination with a capital "D".
> Reading some of what you’ve
> written, sometimes I wonder if it’s even worth
> fighting. You graduated from
> University of Houston and are obviously a very
> bright and articulate
> man….had a great job at a major oil company…and
> can’t get another job
> because of your disability. I want Brian to be
> independent to the extent
> he can.
> Am I going to spend $30,000 – $40,000 per year to
> educate him to find out no
> company wants to take him on? Would that money be
> better spent for
> caregivers later on in life. I want to be
> optimistic…..but, I need to be
> realistic, too.
>
> Joyce
>
>
> From: Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com>
> Date: Mon, 02 Apr 2007 13:23:13 -0500
> To: ‘Casa de Servicio’ <admin@casadeservicio.org>,
> ‘joyce abrahamson’
> <jabrahamson@optonline.net>
> Subject: RE: Xpress-It
>
=== message truncated ===

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
http://mail.yahoo.com


No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 269.5.4/768 – Release Date: 4/19/2007
5:32 AM


No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 269.5.4/768 – Release Date: 4/19/2007
5:32 AM

Leave a Reply

