RE: DELL: XPS 1710 technical support

Ok Richard, I’m a little disappointed that Dell took this long to respond, but not really surprised. The email address, marie@dell.com, was a bit too cute to  not be a public front. I was with a large company long enough to know how often people get transferred. That’s why I’m sending a copy to Joanne, to hopefully gain some degree of continuity across multiple agents.

 

I am somewhat a high-visibility Dell user. It is difficult to sum myself up in a tidy little package that an agent will  relate to. I am physically disabled, and am at least partially active in society. That means that hardware going around with me is a bit hi-vis in itself. You can get a photo of me at my website. The easiest place to see me is at www.conchbbs.com/blog.  I recommend looking at it despite the fact that it’s a few laptop generations back, because it shows just how visible the laptop I use is. By extension, the photo gives you some clues just how dependent I am on my laptops. They speak for me, they bank for me, they communicate for me, they even game for me. If anything, that tells you I am probably more dependent on my laptops than most Dell customers. It also means that the standard Dell technical support experience, with calls going to Panama or Mumbai or wherever, does not work for me. That’s why the online outreach program became necessary in my case.

 

Now, after that lengthy intro, I have to tell you that I don’t currently have a technical issue for you—yet. I appeared to have one last week, but the source turned out to not be the 1710. The 1710 has lost one USB port on the back, but there’s enough redundancy in a 1710 to cover losing one USB port.

 

HOWEVER, my 1710 is supposed to be replaced as my primary laptop later this summer. That says I’m going to have some highly-technical questions needing good answers as I select the new laptop. Answers that won’t be on the Dell website. That’s when you and Joanne will really be in a position to help by  finding the answers

 

From: Richard_Bernier@Dell.com [mailto:Richard_Bernier@Dell.com]
Sent: Friday, July 13, 2007 12:15 PM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: DELL: XPS 1710 technical support
Importance: High

 

Mr. Royal,

 

My name is Richard; I am part of Dell’s Online Community Outreach group here in Round Rock, Texas.  You contacted us about your XPS 1710 needing support.  Since I work a lot on these units, I will be the one to assist you.

 

I am going to provided you my direct contact phone, 1-800-822-8965 ex. 726-8859.  Please call as soon as it is convenient for.  I look forward to working with you.

 

Regards,

Richard Bernier
Online Community Outreach Liaison
Dell Inc.
Dell always strives to improve!  Please send feedback to my manager Joanne_Hamann@dell.com

This e-mail message may contain information that is confidential and/or privileged. If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender by reply e-mail and delete the message and any attachment(s). Thank you.

 

 

No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.476 / Virus Database: 269.10.4/898 – Release Date: 7/12/2007 4:08 PM

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.476 / Virus Database: 269.10.5/899 – Release Date: 7/13/2007 3:41 PM

Leave a Reply

