FW: Hello

What do you think? I get
the feeling “Doug” doesn’t have all his oars in the water. All
I know right now is that he thinks he has some brilliant idea involving Excel, and
he’s fed up with his current contractor. Still, I have to give him a fair
hearing.

 

From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Saturday, September 08, 2007 1:47 PM
To: ‘dougrdougr@yahoo.com’
Subject: Hello

 

Doug,

 

You actually caught me in the middle of a street returning
home with my dogs so you had me typing blind in the bright sunshine. It’s
funny how things happen that way.

 

I do not have any problem with NDAs. If they comfort you,
that’s good. However, I am a person of honor, and I won’t take your
money in bad faith. In other words, I won’t work for you (and thus take
your money) unless I’m convinced that you can turn a profit on your idea.
That’s just being honorable.

 

I’m already concerned by some of the advice you have
received. Software patents are essentially a myth. Oh, they do exist. Patent
lawyers make big paydays filing them, but none has withstood a legal challenge
because you can only patent physical items. Have you ever seen the contents of
a book patented, or a recipe? Of course not. A recipe is exactly what a program
is, a set of instructions telling a computer exactly what to do. It’s a
pity that the US Patent Office has become so lax on what gets approved. The
good news is that copyrights are affixed as soon as you write anything down so
that protection is automatic.

 

I’m still happy to buy your dinner tomorrow and
discuss your programming needs. That’s the way any professional would
handle your inquiry. I’ll ask the caregiver who is working tomorrow for
her restaurant recommendations on Westheimer, and will let you know.

 

Scott

 

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.485 / Virus Database: 269.13.9/994 – Release Date: 9/7/2007 4:40 PM

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.485 / Virus Database: 269.13.9/994 – Release Date: 9/7/2007 4:40 PM

Leave a Reply

