FW: M1530, Good News–mostly

Hello Richard,

 

I trust your holidays were relaxing
and rewarding.

 

As you can see, the M1530 arrived
a week early. The battery issue is still outstanding. I’m not sure what
happened to John, and my own holidays were peppered with enough medical woes to
keep me from feeling up to pursuing him. Not a urgent matter, anyway. The M1530
is quite happy to run on the mobile power supply for the M1710. Having a battery
in it is mostly a safety factor. When all else fails, the laptop has to keep
working at least long enough to literally radio for help.

 

Well, I’ve had this M1530
on active duty for nearly two weeks now, and no doubt you’re wondering what
my review of it will say. I’m frankly deferring doing a review because
several minor problems have reared their pointy heads. It would seem to our
mutual best interests to work through flattening most of those points before I post
anything. I am comfortable saying that because most of the issues appear to
stem from assembly difficulties. Not at all surprising since this model is
brand new. For example, the bezel above the keyboard bows upward just enough to
make the power button require extra pressure. This also causes F3 and F4 to jam
occasionally.

 

Similarly, several of the
devices Dell shoehorns into this case, the fingerprint scanner, camera, mike,
radios, etc. may not be firmly seated. I surmise that because they don’t always
connect when I open the lid. In fact, I can make the camera and mike disconnect
just by applying light pressure to the back of the lid.

 

Obviously, those are things that
would annoy anyone, but I don’t expect them to require much effort to correct.
I’m debating sending this laptop for a day trip to visit you in Round
Rock. You’d need maybe an hour to strip it and properly rebuild the 3D
puzzle. I don’t want to do that, but it might be necessary to clear the small
stuff. That would still leave a couple of more serious software problems for us
to work.

 

Scott

 

From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 12:23 PM
To: ‘John_Blain@Dell.com’
Cc: ‘Joanne_Hamann@Dell.com’
Subject: RE: M1530, Good News–mostly

 

Of course, F14T9F1.

 

Transferring everything to a new
flagship takes a while anyway.

 

From: John_Blain@Dell.com
[mailto:John_Blain@Dell.com]
Sent: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 9:48 AM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Cc: Joanne_Hamann@Dell.com
Subject: M1530, Good News–mostly

 

Scott-

 

I
am a member of the outreach team, and Joanne sent this to me to handle.
I’ve worked with Richard since the beginning, passing cases back and
forth when necessary. I’d be happy to help you with this in his stead.

 

Since
Richard isn’t available, could you send me the service tag of the machine
so I can issue the dispatch? Once I get the process rolling, it shouldn’t
take more than 48 hours to get it fixed.

 

 

John W. Blain

Online Community Outreach Liaison

Dell, Inc.

Phone: 1-800-822-8965 ext 72-33987

 

 

 

From: Hamann, Joanne
Sent: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 8:21 AM
To: Blain, John
Subject: FW: M1530, Good News–mostly

 

John,
can you check into this case.

 

Joanne

 

From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Tuesday, December 18, 2007 9:07 PM
To: Hamann, Joanne
Subject: FW: M1530, Good News–mostly

 

Joanne,

 

Richard is apparently out for
the rest of the year so I need to involve you.  I realize that you know
nothing about me, and that is going to complicate matters.  Get Richard to
bring you up to speed when he gets back.  For now, would you please just
have somebody send a regular battery for a M1530 (yeah, I also recognize that
you’re a manager, not a worker bee). 

 

Scott

 

 

From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Tuesday, December 18, 2007 8:15 PM
To: ‘Richard_Bernier@Dell.com’
Subject: M1530, Good News–mostly

 

Richard,

 

The M1530 just arrived, a full week early.  I must say
that it makes a very good first impression, both in terms of the size reduction
from the M1710, and the overall appearance.  The first blush is that this
might be the best laptop for me yet.  The online information on it does
the machine poor justice. 

 

Unfortunately, I ordered it with the high-capacity
battery.  I had good reasons for doing so, but the website failed to
mention that the high-capacity battery raises the back of the machine a good
inch at least.  Most people would likely appreciate that, as it makes
typing easier.  But, as you know, it’s a real show-stopper in my
case because the laptop must lie flat on the table in order for the Velcro to
work.  I expected the high-capacity battery to stick out the back, like on
the M1210.  Can we do a swap with a regular battery or something?  I
can’t use the laptop until we resolve this. 

 

Scott

 

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.503 / Virus Database: 269.17.4/1188 – Release Date: 12/17/2007
2:13 PM

 

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.503 / Virus Database: 269.17.4/1188 – Release Date: 12/17/2007
2:13 PM

 

No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.503 / Virus Database: 269.17.4/1188 – Release Date: 12/17/2007
2:13 PM

 

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.503 / Virus Database: 269.17.4/1189 – Release Date: 12/18/2007
9:40 PM

Leave a Reply

