FW: Help

 

 


From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, January 14, 2008
5:38 PM
To: ‘Matt Geiger’
Subject: RE: Help

 

Matt,

 

Thank you for taking the time to reply.
Your response confirms that I have chosen the right course of action in my
case. The course you describe is the way that the medical equipment business in
general handles such situations, and one dealer almost cannot deviate from the
“party line” and hope to be allowed to stay in business. I do
understand, and such treatment is a reasonable option for customers with plenty
of money and no scheduled obligations. However, the environment of the Internet
gives the inventive customer a few extra options.

 

In my case, one set of electronics is en
route, and a second Mk. IV A+ controller has been located for a rational price.
Certainly not the $1200 that Invacare demands for a RII “Retro.”
True, there aren’t any iron-clad warranties, but Invacare isn’t
offering much of a warranty on Mk. IV stuff either. Simple economics takes
over. For what Invacare wants, I can get two or three Mk. IV sets, have this
controller rebuilt by Edmond Electronics, and
get a rebuilt motor from a good Lubbock source if needs be.

 

By the way, both motors pass the simple
tests given in Invacare’s own service manual. Of course that’s
inconclusive, but the incident that led to the chair’s failure makes me
strongly suspect that the controller cooked its left drive circuit. I have long
felt that power chair joysticks should only work in close proximity to
specially encoded magnetic rings like those used by some cops to prevent their
own pistols from being fired by others. Through a freak string of events, the
chair became trapped against a wall, pinned by a piece of furniture pressing on
the joystick. I knew I couldn’t kill the power until I somehow freed the
joystick or the chair would never power up. That took a minute or two, and the
Mk. IV only checks its internal temperature when the joystick is neutral. See
what I’m saying?

 

Thank you for your prompt response, but
I’ll respectfully decline your offered appointment. I hope to be mobile
by then. I will keep you in mind, though, in case things don’t work out.

 

Scott

 

PS

 

I’ve never heard of Apria, but
I’ve met Lee.

                                                                                                                                                                                          


From: Matt Geiger
[mailto:Matt@wheelchairshop.com]
Sent: Monday, January 14, 2008
12:39 PM
To: Scott Royall
Subject: Re: Help

 

Scott, I
have 1-16-08 in the afternoon open. Can you be here at 3:00?

The problem
with the motor and the power stage are connected. At a bear minimum we need to
rebuild the controller and replace the bad motor. When you come in I can give
you a close estimate of cost and time frame for  this repair.
The time it takes for the rebuild is up to Invacare. I would guess that it
would cost around $1400.00 bucks. I just completed the same thing just before
Christmas for another customer. I do not have a MKVI controller that works. If
you intend to come to this appointment please confirm it asap.

FYI
Scott, I believe that these repairs could be covered by Medicare, however you
would have to go to another company that accepts the benefit. Apria would be a
good choice. Lee Shelton is more than capable of doing this type of repair.
Talk to you soon.

MATT GEIGER CRTS
THE WHEELCHAIRSHOP INC.
1332 UPLAND DR.
HOUSTON, TX. 77043
713-468-0696
713-468-1517 FAX

—– Original Message —–

From: Scott Royall

Sent: Saturday, January
12, 2008 12:37 AM

Subject: Help

 

Matt,

 

This will either make your day, or make you cringe. I need an appointment
with you or Paul ASAP after 11 a.m. next week. I’m immobilized with a
probable power stage failure, and a possible issue with the left drive.

 

I know, you’re about to launch into a long spiel of things you
cannot do because of insurance limitations. Do us both a big favor and skip
that. I’m coming to you for diagnostics and options to get this
wheelchair running again. The electronics are Mark IV, and I know it’s a
huge temptation to try to sell me a new chair. Yet, remember that Medicare
benefit can only be used once, and it takes about 14 hours to make a new chair
useful to me. Your insurance company won’t let you help so all the burden
of getting a new chair to a point where it’s useful to me falls to my
people, and they’re out-of-town a lot.

 

Scott

Leave a Reply

