RE: ADT Security Services 14536868

Gentlemen,

You clearly did not read my request. For I quite explicitly asked that you
contact me only via email due to my disability!

I have a GE Simon Three sold and installed by an ADT dealer in 2004. My ADT
account was active until 11/16/07. In late October, I contacted ADT because
the batteries in some of my sensors were failing. I was told that I would be
charged over $100 for someone to come change the batteries. I responded
that, under those terms, my only option would be to close the account. When
I contacted ADT again the next day, a different person said the information
I was previously given was plain wrong, that battery replacement was free,
and that I needn’t close the account. Why was it mysteriously closed for me?

I recently received a refund check for $116 from ADT, along with a letter
stating that my account had been closed. I had a caregiver call ADT, and a
salesman was dispatched the next day. Unfortunately, the meeting was a waste
of time. The salesman took great pains to tell me ADT could not "take over"
my Simon 3, essentially because it wasn’t on his chart. He tried to tell me
ADT couldn’t program my system or provide parts. This salesman could not
grasp that I needed neither, and I think he was intent on selling me a less
capable system for over $500. As it was, he made several inaccurate
statements about my system, such as claiming it lacks backup power. It
doesn’t.

The truth is that my environment renders moot most of the functionally of an
alarm system. Caregivers come and go, remotes get lost or broken, and you
certainly don’t want to give caregivers actual access codes. No, about the
only alarm function of any use to me is the automatic smoke detector. I have
two dogs, one being a service dog. That means that her monetary value is on
the order of one of your vans fully stocked. Consider that well. Yet, I am
now on a small fixed income, and $45/month for just monitoring the smoke
detector for the safety of my dogs is quite pricey. If you really expect
your customers to do that, your service needs to be as trouble-free and
helpful as possible.

You need to know that a copy of this email is appearing on my blog. That
says that your mishandling of my account is on the Internet for all to see.
ADT is effectively walking around in public with its pants down to its
ankles, you might want to pull them up by actually working with me to meet
my monitoring needs. I’ll provide you with my account number privately at
the appropriate time. What I request of you is that my account be
re-activated ASAP, and that someone come put fresh batteries in my Simon 3
smoke detector. I really don’t care if he removes the batteries from the
other sensors.

Scott Royall

> —–Original Message—–
> From: prduser@adt.com [mailto:prduser@adt.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, January 22, 2008 7:01 AM
> To: royall@conchbbs.com
> Subject: ADT Security Services 14536868
>
>
> Thank you again for your interest in ADT Security Services. Per your
request, we have
> been trying to reach you. Please call us at your earliest convenience at
800-238-3770.

Leave a Reply

