RE: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD

Clarice,

 

I’m glad
to know that I’m not forgotten yet. That does count for something, I’m
just not certain what. My situation continues to be quite frustrating. Here I sit
with an AAC solution that not only works, it does things no other AAC software
does. I am now an amateur radio operator, and I use my solution to actually
talk over the air. Nobody else is doing that so far.

 

One response I often
get from SLPs is, “that works for you, but everybody is different.”
Guys, that’s a truism. Of course everybody is different, but we aren’t
that different. I’ve met several people who could benefit from I have if
they could get access to it. Access largely relates to funding availability, and
funding is largely tied to recommendations.

 

Don’t get
me wrong, I’m not merely ragging on SLPs. I do understand the pressures they
face to stick with the established options. Your brief notes sort of hint at
one big reason: SLPs are notoriously overworked. And, if you have anything to
do with technology, you’re virtually drowning in work. Looking at new
products takes time bosses don’t want SLPs spending. As one of my competitors
put it at TATN ’07, it’s all about having an big advertizing
budget. Vendors are already focusing on maintaining their relationships with
managers. Short of someone dumping a ton of cash on me, I’m having real
trouble finding a way over that hurdle. I can’t resist pointing out, however, 
that reality gives lie to the “everybody is different” reasoning. Unfortunately,
the reality also keeps people like me from pursuing further innovations.

 

And so it goes.

 

Scott

 

From: Clarice Nelson
[mailto:claricen@hotmail.com]
Sent: Sunday, February 03, 2008 5:04 PM
To: Scott Royall; Michelle Mekky
Subject: RE: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD

 

Good Afternoon Scott
Sorry about not being able to get back with you in time. My colleagues said
they and not had the chance to get in contact with you either…I’m send this
message to Michelle as well so you can ask her what ever you’d like…
I apologize, just know that I haven’t forgotten about you… -Clarice


From: royall@conchbbs.com
To: claricen@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD
Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2008 21:54:37 -0600

Clarice,

 

I did find the date. I just can’t come up with $150 by
this Saturday. I needed more time, unfortunately.

 

Scott

 

From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 30, 2008 9:18 PM
To: ‘Scott Royall’; ‘Clarice Nelson’
Subject: RE: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD

 

Clarice,

 

I need the date of this event?

 

From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Sunday, January 27, 2008 4:22 PM
To: ‘Clarice Nelson’
Subject: RE: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD

 

Clarice,

 

When is this?

 

Scott

 

From: Clarice Nelson
[mailto:claricen@hotmail.com]
Sent: Sunday, January 27, 2008 3:33 PM
To: Scott Royall
Subject: FW: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD

 


Hi Scott,
Long time, I know…
My people should contact you or you can contact them…
Sorry about the late notice…
Clarice


From:
nbewley@parishschool.org
Subject: Doug Brook’s Workshop HACD
Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2008 18:18:42 -0600

"AAC Evidence-Based Decisions:  Optimizing Outcomes Across the
Lifespan"

 

Our
presenter is Katya Hill, PhD, CCC-SLP.  Katya is an Associate Professor at
the University of Pittsburgh.  She is the executive director and
Co-founder of the AAC Institute in Edinboro, Pennsylvania.  She is also a
delegate to the United Nations Global Alliance for Information and
Communication Technologies and Development. 

 

Please
plan to join us.  Brochure is attached. 

 

 

 


Helping
your favorite cause is as easy as instant messaging. You IM, we give. Learn more.

 

No
virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.12/1245 – Release Date: 1/26/2008
3:45 PM

 

No
virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.12/1245 – Release Date: 1/26/2008
3:45 PM

 

No
virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.16/1251 – Release Date: 1/30/2008
9:29 AM


No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.16/1251 – Release Date: 1/30/2008
9:29 AM

 


Helping
your favorite cause is as easy as instant messaging. You IM, we give. Learn more.

 

No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.19/1256 – Release Date: 2/2/2008 1:50
PM

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.19/1258 – Release Date: 2/4/2008 10:10 AM

Leave a Reply

