RE: Dell: Hard Drive Click

Dell: Hard Drive Click

Nope, not at
all. Look up Spinrite if you’re unfamiliar with it. It’s a drive
diagnostic/recovery/maintenance tool that is, well, the stuff of legend.
Spinrite is horrid to watch, being entirely DOS-based, but nothing does a
better job of assessing and evaluating hard-drives. I suspect Spinrite should
ship with every PC made.

 

At any rate, I
scraped up the $89 for a copy of Spinrite on Friday, and both
“girls” passed their hard-drive physicals on Saturday. Roddy does
have a few dead sectors, but 6 is well within the pool of 242 sectors in her
drive’s pool of those available for re-allocation. Yes, Spinrite
interacts with a hard-drive’s onboard electronics too. The click I hear
at odd times is apparently the heads parking. Roddy is so thin that
there’s nothing to deaden the sound, and the odd timing is due to
techno-babble like “lazy writing.”

 

For Steve:
I’m physically disabled, and I use my pair of Dell laptops for
everything. They are a XPS M1710 and a XPS M1530, named Lilly and HotRoddy
after my working dogs. I really depend on both so Roddy’s occasional
clicks were unsettling. Spinrite declared both as healthy, and is now trundling
along on my ancient server, Nemesis.

 

From: Richard_Bernier@Dell.com
[mailto:Richard_Bernier@Dell.com]
Sent: Monday, February 25, 2008 9:12 AM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: Dell: Hard Drive Click

 

Mr. Royall,

You need me
to send a replacement hard drive, correct?

Thanks,

Richard Bernier
Online
Community Outreach Liaison

Dell Inc.

Doing good or needing improvement, either way you can contact my
manager
Jennifer_Lea_Hughes@dell.com

Leave a Reply

