RE: HOT Roddy

Thus, you see the real reason
why I told you. I may well be the only 1530 jockey running software that
monitors the internal temperatures.

 

Roddy’s GPU is currently
hovering at 156 F. Not cool at all!

 

From:
Richard_Bernier@Dell.com [mailto:Richard_Bernier@Dell.com]
Sent: Wednesday, April 02, 2008 1:43 PM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: RE: HOT Roddy

 

Mr. Royall,

 

I have checked with two people that are really knowledgeable with
the XPS 1530.  Unfortunately, they both looked at me with a question mars
on their face when I told about what you discovered.  They did say that
they would get back to me.  So, when I know something, I will send it your
way.

 

Best regards,

Richard Bernier
Online Community Outreach Liaison
Dell Inc.
800-822-8965 Ext. 726-8859 | Richard_Bernier@dell.com
Doing good or needing improvement, either way you can contact my
manager
Jennifer_Lea_Hughes@dell.com


From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, March 31, 2008 12:52 PM
To: Bernier, Richard
Subject: RE: HOT Roddy

 

Yeah, I’ll be interested
in the answer, if they level with you.

 

From: Richard_Bernier@Dell.com
[mailto:Richard_Bernier@Dell.com]
Sent: Monday, March 31, 2008 8:36 AM
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: RE: HOT Roddy

 

Mr. Scott,

 

I apologize as I do not have an answer for your question.  I
will have to get in touch with one of the people over there.  It would be
very interesting to hear what they say.

 

Regards,

Richard Bernier
Online Community Outreach Liaison
Dell Inc.
800-822-8965 Ext. 726-8859 | Richard_Bernier@dell.com
Doing good or needing improvement, either way you can contact my
manager
Jennifer_Lea_Hughes@dell.com


From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Sunday, March 30, 2008 1:13 PM
To: Bernier, Richard
Subject: HOT Roddy

 

Richard,

 

Here’s a little something to pass along to the laptop
engineering gnomes.

 

I flashed the latest Dell-recommended revision, A08, to the
BIOS of my XPS M1530, Hot Roddy, yesterday. Now the graphics unit, a Nvidia
8600M, is idling at about 150 F., up to 20 F. above the other components. I
somehow suspect that’s not what the guys had in mind! J I’m seeing GPU spikes up to 175 F.
CPU peaks at 155, which is unremarkable in Roddy since she’s a
hot-blooded little critter.

 

Also, why was the hard-drive temperature sensor disabled n
A08?

 

Scott

Leave a Reply

