RE: Special Needs (phone)

 

I have no doubt that you and Anna
have done your best to help me, and I thank you for your efforts. However, this
is the very response I expected from Verizon, and I continue to be amazed how American
companies fail to understand the reality behind their successes. New Coke is
the classic example of how badly a company can misunderstand its customers. In Verizon’s
case, being a closed business like Apple isn’t the secret of their success. Their
success comes from their signal density. In other words, Verizon has benefitted
greatly from the cell sites they inherited from GTE, and they have done a good
job of building upon that base. Your reliability stems from having a lot of
well-equipped and well-maintained sites, nothing more.  The ugly truth is
that the average person doesn’t even consider mobile phone security at all. Their
main concern is having service everywhere always.

 

Congratulations Verizon, you
have managed to get into my blog, and that’s not necessarily good news. Look,
it is now almost a foregone conclusion that the Democrats will be in power for
at least four years, and Democrats love to appear to be looking out for the
common man. That’s like cocaine to them, and the CTIA is representing an
industry that seems to be begging for harsh regulation. I think it’s nearly
suicidal to want to charge over $1,000 per a megabyte of SMS data, and by not
letting your customers use your network in ways that meet their needs. That
sort of behavior just makes you a juicy target for the Democrats regardless of
how much the CTIA contributes to them. The claim that you’re protecting your
network doesn’t hold water, because CDMA is no more secure than GSM. Rather the
opposite, in fact. No, I have to respectfully submit that Verizon is more interested
in protecting their profits. Unfortunately, they are doing it in a matter that
will eventually be self-destructive.

From: Brad.Stinson@VerizonWireless.com
[mailto:Brad.Stinson@VerizonWireless.com]
Sent: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 10:46
To: Scott Royall
Subject: FW: Special Needs

 

Scott

    Anna spoke with tech support and this is the
best we have right now.  She is correct by saying we block certain things
on or devices due to security of our network.  Verizon Wireless is the
only carrier not to have their network hacked into.  We must keep that
statement.  I know it frustrates some users, but that’s why we continue to
be the most respect and most reliable.  I am sorry to say that right now I
cannot find the software you are looking for.

 


From: Almestica, Anna Maria
Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2008 6:35 PM
To: Stinson, Brad
Subject: RE: Special Needs

Hey Brad there is a new bluetooth motorola that is coming oput that
tech support suggested for him to use we have not received it as of yet. To where
he can attach the speaker to the computer and use the computer to control the
voice command. however, this is not what he wants he wants to be able to
minuplate(aggie apelling). or control the phonen through the
computer.  We have not touched what he is asking us to do and we
will not because our network is to secure. We would have to open our
devices up and verizon will never do that. So the speaker so far is the
best solution I can come up with besides the SamU55o it has dun bluetooth.
but he will not be able to use voice at the same time he is teathering.

 

Thanks 

Anna Almestica

 

Miss Ya! 

 


From: Stinson, Brad
Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2008 10:02 AM
To: ‘Scott Royall’
Cc: Almestica, Anna Maria
Subject: RE: Special Needs

Scott it is real great to hear from you.  Sorry I am not in
the stores to better assist you anymore.  You have always been an
inspiration to me.  You are a brilliant individual.  I am not aware
of the software you are speaking of, but I am forwarding this information to a
group that may have a better answer.  As soon as they respond, I will let
you know what I find.  Please take care of yourself, and I will talk to
you soon.

 

 


From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, October 13, 2008 8:22 PM
To: Stinson, Brad
Subject: Special Needs

Brad,

 

Please forward this to Anna at the Highway 6 store, since I
forgot to get her email address. For that matter, it’s logical to include you
in this discussion because some of what I’m looking for is the same
things we would look for when I was with Shell.

 

What I am not looking for is a way to route the phone audio
through the computer. That would actually create additional problems in my case
because I use the computer to speak. The phone would be unable to keep the
incoming and outgoing audio separate, and that’s really bad news in the phone
business as it creates a killer echo. The ability to assign incoming and
outgoing audio to different Bluetooth devices would eliminate that problem, but
I’m unaware of a phone so well designed.

 

No, what I really need is something I had a decade ago with
my little Kyocera 2350. I could connect it to my computer and then fully
control it by manipulation of an on-screen image of it. For someone with
limited dexterity, a Windows machine is far more forgiving than any phone. The
best way to understand that is by calling any automated system where you have
to enter strings of numbers without errors. With the Kyocera, I had the
computer’s full-sized keyboard on my side. For the past several years,
Motorola’s website has indicated that their Mobile Office software has a
very similar ability on most of their phones, including the Razr. Why does
Verizon insist on disabling the feature?

 
 
The information contained in this message and any attachment may be
proprietary, confidential, and privileged or subject to the work
product doctrine and thus protected from disclosure.  If the reader
of this message is not the intended recipient, or an employee or
agent responsible for delivering this message to the intended
recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination,
distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.
If you have received this communication in error, please notify me
immediately by replying to this message and deleting it and all
copies and backups thereof.  Thank you.
 

Leave a Reply

