RE: Special Needs (phone)

Boy, the G1 is
going to hit you poor guys hard, directly or not. Remember that, unlike Apple’s
NazIphone, the G-series Shall cross carriers and is wide-friggin-open. Verizon is
either in for a crash course in competition or…
J

 

From:
Brad.Stinson@VerizonWireless.com [mailto:Brad.Stinson@VerizonWireless.com]
Sent: Thursday, October 23, 2008 16:41
To: Scott Royall
Subject: RE: Special Needs (phone)

 

I will tell you. Your cap on the pda tethering will be 5gb. 
They will charge you for overage after that.  The unlimited is not an
option anymore.

 


From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Thursday, October 23, 2008 4:37 PM
To: ‘Jon Gardner’
Cc: Stinson, Brad; Almestica, Anna Maria
Subject: RE: Special Needs (phone)

Damn! I missed
Anna AGAIN. I hope to close the deal on the way home from a doctor’s
appointment Monday, but I need to see the PDAs first. My account is complicated
and I want to be sure everything important is transferred properly. I have one
of the few 10 Gb/mo. caps that Verizon has ever allowed, and I need every 
byte.

 

I may or may
not allow the PDA to have one of my valuable USB ports. That’s one reason
why I need to see them, to determine what they are capable of through
Bluetooth. I also need to know which is more resistant to rain.

From: Jon Gardner
[mailto:jonathongardner@gmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, October 23, 2008 08:44
To: Scott Royall
Cc: brad.stinson@verizonwireless.com; Anna.Almestica@verizonwireless.com
Subject: Re: Special Needs (phone)

 

Scott,

 

Im referring to the PocketPC / PDA whenever I say phone,
sorry for the confusion. I completely understand your intent. This solution
will also eliminate the aircard if you desire.

 

Thanks

 

Jon

On Wed, Oct 22, 2008 at 5:08 PM, Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com> wrote:

Jon,

 

I looked up the PDAs, and both
have phone capability so why would I want a separate phone? In fact, my overall
goal is to consolidate all Verizon services into one line. (Relax Verizon,
you’ll still get plenty of my blood.)

 

Anna,

 

Will you be at work tomorrow? I
want to look at the PDAs.

 

From: Jon Gardner [mailto:jonathongardner@gmail.com]

Sent: Tuesday, October 21, 2008 15:12

To: Scott Royall
Subject: Re: Special Needs (phone)

 

1 laptop running MyMobile (software to access phone through a GUI with full
function) http://www.mtux.com/

1 VZW xv6800 or xv6900 (Windows PocketPC Phone running Windows Mobile 6.x)
Verizon Wireless XV6800 –
The one I currently own.
OR
Verizon Wireless XV6900 –
Ditches keyboard completely, which you wouldnt use anyway.

 

You then setup activesync (or Mobile Device Manager in Vista) to
communicate via USB or Bluetooth between laptop and phone, run MyMobile from
taskbar icon and your done

 

Full access to the phone via the laptop through keyboard shortcuts and point
click interface. And then for true bluetooth audio control, there is a
Bluetooth A2DP profile manager to handle redirection of phone audio to PC
speakers or bluetooth headset, and possibly the redirection of ExpressIT audio
to the handset (may require some unique coding, but I think you are capable)

 

 

In the end, you pay for a new phone, lose the aircard since the phone can
handle that function as well through usb modem tethering. Both peices of
software should be free, so its not to expensive and the phone isnt bigger than
a pack of cigarettes with the extended battery (which I use to handle the
hundreds of emails i get daily)

On Tue, Oct 21, 2008 at 1:50 PM, Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com>
wrote:

I’m still not clear on which
devices you’re talking about. It sounds like you’re describing two devices,
plus the computer. That raises costs higher than I can afford.

 

From: Jon Gardner [mailto:jonathongardner@gmail.com]
Sent: Monday, October 20, 2008 11:49


To: Scott Royall
Subject: Re: Special Needs (phone)

 

thats why you use the mymobile so you dont need
to look at the phone directly once setup. Its all on screen and controlled via
pc almost like a remote desktop session

On Sat, Oct 18, 2008 at 6:35 PM, Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com>
wrote:

True, but remember that the
general idea is to control the phone from a full-sized keyboard.
J

 

From: Jon Gardner [mailto:jonathongardner@gmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 21:56
To: Scott Royall


Subject: Re: Special Needs (phone)

 

I understand the dilemma although you could
strap the phone to the bottom of the tray or hang in a holster and
it’d stay charged from the usb. and the device is only 3/4" in wider than
a Razr, look up the specs

On Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 7:24 PM, Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com>
wrote:

That’s an interesting thought,
but it gets into the "real estate" issue that I talked about in my
AAC presentation. Essentially, the space in front of us is pretty high valued
because we can only use one device at a time. In my case, switching between
devices isn’t trivial so I have learned to buy laptops that are powerful enough
to do anything I want or need to. My laptops are attached to an aluminum table,
and there isn’t a lot of room for other things there. My Razr barely fits.

 

From: Jon Gardner [gmail.com]

Sent: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 17:23
To: Scott Royall
Cc: Brad.Stinson@verizonwireless.com;
Anna.Almestica@verizonwireless.com;
mobiletechroundup@gmail.com
Subject: Re: Special Needs (phone)

 

Scott,

 

What you need is a  windows pocket pc (like the xv6800 Titan or
xv6900 Touch) running Mobile 6.0 or  6.1 preferably, My Mobile (http://www.mtux.com/), and
activesync the device using Windows Mobile Device Manager (in Vista) or
ActiveSync in XP, this will give you a full functioning softphone version of
the device that hides in your taskbar that can be manipluated as if if directly
messing with the phone (including hard keys on most devices), works via USB or
bluetooth. You can even use WMwifiRouter (its a licensed software that cost
about $40 but I have the older non licensed version that will at least do AdHoc
if you need it) to turn the device into a wireless access point and utilize it
as your EVDO modem. There is also a cool bluetooth device manager (I will see
if I can find it) that allows for unique configurations of multiple bluetooth
devices. – Just a thought. Verizon is the network, they are dim when it comes
to device manipulation beyond what the masses want, a reliable phone and silly
ringtones 🙂

 

Jon

On Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 4:42 PM, Scott Royall <royall@conchbbs.com>
wrote:

 

I have no doubt that you and Anna have done your
best to help me, and I thank you for your efforts. However, this is the very
response I expected from Verizon, and I continue to be amazed how American
companies fail to understand the reality behind their successes. New Coke is
the classic example of how badly a company can misunderstand its customers. In
Verizon’s case, being a closed business like Apple isn’t the secret of their
success. Their success comes from their signal density. In other words, Verizon
has benefitted greatly from the cell sites they inherited from GTE, and they
have done a good job of building upon that base. Your reliability stems from
having a lot of well-equipped and well-maintained sites, nothing more.  The
ugly truth is that the average person doesn’t even consider mobile phone
security at all. Their main concern is having service everywhere always.

 

Congratulations Verizon, you have managed to get
into my blog, and that’s not necessarily good news. Look, it is now almost a
foregone conclusion that the Democrats will be in power for at least four
years, and Democrats love to appear to be looking out for the common man.
That’s like cocaine to them, and the CTIA is representing an industry that
seems to be begging for harsh regulation. I think it’s nearly suicidal to want
to charge over $1,000 per a megabyte of SMS data, and by not letting your
customers use your network in ways that meet their needs. That sort of behavior
just makes you a juicy target for the Democrats regardless of how much the CTIA
contributes to them. The claim that you’re protecting your network doesn’t hold
water, because CDMA is no more secure than GSM. Rather the opposite, in fact.
No, I have to respectfully submit that Verizon is more interested in protecting
their profits. Unfortunately, they are doing it in a matter that will
eventually be self-destructive.

From: Brad.Stinson@VerizonWireless.com [mailto:Brad.Stinson@VerizonWireless.com]

Sent: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 10:46
To: Scott Royall
Subject: FW: Special Needs

 

Scott

    Anna spoke with
tech support and this is the best we have right now.  She is correct by saying
we block certain things on or devices due to security of our network. 
Verizon Wireless is the only carrier not to have their network hacked
into.  We must keep that statement.  I know it frustrates some users,
but that’s why we continue to be the most respect and most reliable.  I am
sorry to say that right now I cannot find the software you are looking for.

 


From: Almestica, Anna Maria
Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2008 6:35 PM
To: Stinson, Brad
Subject: RE: Special Needs

Hey Brad there is a new bluetooth
motorola that is coming oput that tech support suggested for him to use we have
not received it as of yet. To where he can attach the speaker to the computer
and use the computer to control the voice command. however, this is not what he
wants he wants to be able to minuplate(aggie apelling). or control the
phonen through the computer.  We have not touched what he is
asking us to do and we will not because our network is to secure. We would have
to open our devices up and verizon will never do that. So the speaker
so far is the best solution I can come up with besides the SamU55o it has
dun bluetooth. but he will not be able to use voice at the same time he is
teathering.

 

Thanks 

Anna Almestica

 

Miss Ya! 

 


From: Stinson, Brad
Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2008 10:02 AM
To: ‘Scott Royall’
Cc: Almestica, Anna Maria
Subject: RE: Special Needs

Scott it is real great to hear
from you.  Sorry I am not in the stores to better assist you
anymore.  You have always been an inspiration to me.  You are a
brilliant individual.  I am not aware of the software you are speaking of,
but I am forwarding this information to a group that may have a better
answer.  As soon as they respond, I will let you know what I find. 
Please take care of yourself, and I will talk to you soon.

 

 


From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, October 13, 2008 8:22 PM
To: Stinson, Brad
Subject: Special Needs

Brad,

 

Please forward this to Anna at the Highway 6 store, since I forgot to get
her email address. For that matter, it’s logical to include you in this
discussion because some of what I’m looking for is the same things we would
look for when I was with Shell.

 

What I am not looking for is a way to route the phone audio through the
computer. That would actually create additional problems in my case because I
use the computer to speak. The phone would be unable to keep the incoming and
outgoing audio separate, and that’s really bad news in the phone business as it
creates a killer echo. The ability to assign incoming and outgoing audio to
different Bluetooth devices would eliminate that problem, but I’m unaware of a
phone so well designed.

 

No, what I really need is something I had a decade ago with my little
Kyocera 2350. I could connect it to my computer and then fully control it by
manipulation of an on-screen image of it. For someone with limited dexterity, a
Windows machine is far more forgiving than any phone. The best way to
understand that is by calling any automated system where you have to enter
strings of numbers without errors. With the Kyocera, I had the computer’s
full-sized keyboard on my side. For the past several years, Motorola’s website
has indicated that their Mobile Office software has a very similar ability on
most of their phones, including the Razr. Why does Verizon insist on disabling
the feature?

 
 
The information contained in this message and any attachment may be
proprietary, confidential, and privileged or subject to the work
product doctrine and thus protected from disclosure.  If the reader
of this message is not the intended recipient, or an employee or
agent responsible for delivering this message to the intended
recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination,
 
 
 
 
 
distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.
If you have received this communication in error, please notify me
immediately by replying to this message and deleting it and all
copies and backups thereof.  Thank you.
 


Jon Gardner
832.758.2326


Jon Gardner
832.758.2326


Jon Gardner
832.758.2326


Jon Gardner
832.758.2326


Jon Gardner
832.758.2326

Leave a Reply

