RE: 0xDEADDEAD

I suppose I’m doing ok.

 

I have something I want you to research inside Dell. The subject
of this message, 0xDEADDEAD, is a special BSOD (blue screen of death) stop code
in Vista that MSDN claims can only be triggered intentionally. Apparently, it
is tripped via a specific system call, and is basically meant to halt a Windows
box so that an external hardware-level debugger can poke around inside.
Theoretically, this stop code is only available if it has been enabled in the
registry.

 

Well, theory is apparently wrong, because I’ve seen
0xDEADDEAD three times in recent memory on my M1530, and I didn’t enable
it. A quick Internet search turned up at least one M1550 user who’s
experiencing the same thing. One theory is that Intel left debug code active in
their wireless drivers. Could be, but how and why is it being enabled?

 

I realize the boys and girls in the laptop department
don’t tell you much, but please try anyway. I didn’t see any
reports from non-Dell users, at least not recently.

 

This topic will go on my blog, since other people are being affected.

 

From:
Richard_Bernier@Dell.com [mailto:Richard_Bernier@Dell.com]
Sent: Tuesday, December 16, 2008 08:08
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: RE: 0xDEADDEAD

 

Mr. Royall,

 

Hello!  Yes, I am here until Friday then I will be gone for
the holidays.  Please tell me, how are you doing?

 

Best regards,

Richard Bernier
Dell Communities & Conversations
Dell Inc.
800-822-8965 Ext. 726-8859 | Richard_Bernier@dell.com
Doing good or needing improvement, either way you can contact my
manager
geoffrey_knox@dell.com


From: Scott Royall
[mailto:royall@conchbbs.com]
Sent: Monday, December 15, 2008 5:49 PM
To: Bernier, Richard
Subject: 0xDEADDEAD

 

Are you
around?

Leave a Reply

