Not Quite

David,

 

Carbonite is an interesting service/product, and Leo Laporte
certainly gives you plenty of mileage for your advertizing dollar with his
glowing endorsements. Unfortunately, neither Leo or your sign-up page happen to
mention that Carbonite only works on internal drives. I just downloaded and
installed it, and immediately encountered this issue.

I am disabled and am in a powered
wheelchair. There are several computers in my life, but the most critical are
laptops. Those are so critical to me that one always is mounted on my chair,
with the others acting mainly as hot spares. The laptops are responsible for
speaking for me, in addition to ALL the other things people do with laptops, finances,
communication, entertainment, even (gasp!) games. As far as I am concerned, the
first rule of laptops is that they NEVER have enough internal storage. This is
why I also have two external USB hard-drives mounted on the chair. My music
collection alone is over 100GB and resides on a hard-drive of its own. The very
drive  that I needed Carbonite to back up!

Although I may be unique in some ways,
the fact is that an increasing number of people are acquiring very large
collections of pictures and music that necessitate dedicated hard-drives. Those
drives have to be external in the world of laptops, and that extremely valuable
data still must be protected. As an IT professional, I may be able to enlist
the ways of NTFS to “trick” Carbonite but linking my Music folder
as a sub-folder of another folder on the internal drive, but I doubt it. There must
be a better way!

Leave a Reply

