RE: Not Quite

That’s a reasonable question that Paul Thurrott can probably answer better
than I can. I do know Windows is aware of when it’s on a laptop. This is
tied to the Windows validation process, and Carbonite should be able to
access the related registry key. A laptop can only have so much attached
storage. I know the theoretical limit is quite high, but the practical limit
is much more realistic.

Also Leo, please remember that mere mortals like me don’t have your
outlandish pipes. My primary ISP is Comcast and my upload speed tops out at
300 KB/s so a little quick math reveals that Carbonite has nothing to worry
about from average people. I am talking about laptops in particular, which
further reduces the amount of data that can be uploaded in a reasonable
period. I know your laptops never leave your desk, but you’re weird. ๐Ÿ™‚
Laptops are mobile, and the one I’m trying to back up is especially mobile.
That means it doesn’t sit around constantly connected to huge tubes. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think you’ll agree that laptops are even more in need of backing up than
desktops. I don’t think it’s reasonable to restrict those owners to what
storage can be squeezed in under the keyboard. Let’s see what David has to
say.

Good night.

—–Original Message—–
From: Leo Laporte [mailto:leo@leoville.com]
Sent: Sunday, September 27, 2009 21:27
To: royall@conchbbs.com
Subject: Re: Not Quite

Carbonite lets you backup everything in your computer – now matter how
much – but how can they backup external drives too? You could swap
that drive every day!

Leo


Leo Laporte
leo@leoville.com
<http://google.com/profiles/laporte&gt;

On Sep 27, 2009, at 6:47 PM, Scott Royall wrote:

> Leo,
>
> I understand what you’re saying, and I appreciate your response.
> However, we
> both know you generate roughly a terabyte of data weekly, and your
> Carbonite
> ads sometimes indicate that you use Carbonite to back up some of it at
> least. Hmm. That’s hardly personal files, but anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚ My point
> was that
> those two external drives are an integral part of the computer
> system on my
> wheelchair. In fact, the Music folders on all my laptops point to
> the music
> drive, making it as personal as personal gets!
>
> In my view, USB and ESATA drives should be treated as part of the
> computer
> as far as Carbonite is concerned.
>
> Scott
>
> —–Original Message—–
> From: Leo Laporte [mailto:leo@leoville.com]
> Sent: Sunday, September 27, 2009 19:46
> To: royall@conchbbs.com
> Cc: david.friend@carbonite.com
> Subject: Re: Not Quite
>
> I do mention it from time to time. The issue Royall is that if you
> could backup every external drive and every network drive we could be
> talking about an unlimited amount of data. No one could offer that for
> $5/month. Carbonite is a personal service intended for backing up the
> contents of your computer – not every drive in your house. I’ll try to
> be more clear about that in the future.
>
> Leo
>
> —
> Leo Laporte
> leo@leoville.com
> <http://google.com/profiles/laporte&gt;
>
> On Sep 27, 2009, at 3:55 PM, Scott Royall wrote:
>
>> David,
>>
>> Carbonite is an interesting service/product, and Leo Laporte
>> certainly gives you plenty of mileage for your advertizing dollar
>> with his glowing endorsements. Unfortunately, neither Leo or your
>> sign-up page happen to mention that Carbonite only works on internal
>> drives. I just downloaded and installed it, and immediately
>> encountered this issue.
>> I am disabled and am in a powered wheelchair. There are several
>> computers in my life, but the most critical are laptops. Those are
>> so critical to me that one always is mounted on my chair, with the
>> others acting mainly as hot spares. The laptops are responsible for
>> speaking for me, in addition to ALL the other things people do with
>> laptops, finances, communication, entertainment, even (gasp!) games.
>> As far as I am concerned, the first rule of laptops is that they
>> NEVER have enough internal storage. This is why I also have two
>> external USB hard-drives mounted on the chair. My music collection
>> alone is over 100GB and resides on a hard-drive of its own. The very
>> drive that I needed Carbonite to back up!
>> Although I may be unique in some ways, the fact is that an
>> increasing number of people are acquiring very large collections of
>> pictures and music that necessitate dedicated hard-drives. Those
>> drives have to be external in the world of laptops, and that
>> extremely valuable data still must be protected. As an IT
>> professional, I may be able to enlist the ways of NTFS to "trick"
>> Carbonite but linking my Music folder as a sub-folder of another
>> folder on the internal drive, but I doubt it. There must be a better
>> way!
>
>

Leave a Reply

