Ari’s warranty

Do it. I suppose we should start thinking about the next generation, but let’s face it. Unless Dell really screws up a proven design, it will be another M15x. It’s certainly true that your contract techs don’t like working on M15xs because of the complexity, disassembly and assembly take much longer. On the other paw, though, they rarely get to do more than replace pieces of the bottom. This has been a very good laptop, and I wish I had named it “Lilly.” It has the right color (black), and determined attitude to serve. While I expect to retire it before 2014, plans rarely survive reality, and one non-warranty service call would make $300 seem like pennies.

No, I didn’t get sick.

From: Bernadete_Padua [mailto:Bernadete_Padua]
Sent: Monday, December 12, 2011 16:52
To: royall
Subject: RE: Ari’s warranty

Hi Scott,

It’s nice to hear from you again. I do hope you didn’t catch a cold or fever yourself.

Ari’s current warranty is until December 8, 2014 and can be still be extended to 2015.

Next Business Day with Complete Care.

Approximately $300 to extend one more year.

Dedet

From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall]
Sent: Tuesday, December 13, 2011 3:37 AM
To: Padua – Mateo, Bernadete
Subject: Ari’s warranty

Dete,

What’s the maximum that we can add to Ari’s warranty? I keep telling you how great this thing is, but words fail me at this point. It’s literally no exaggeration to say that this M15x has become as reliable as my old M1710, and that’s saying a lot. Thus, I naturally want to keep Ari going for as I can. I do expect to semi-retire her in about a year, but she’ll still be the backup machine until late 2014 so it’s wise to keep her in warranty.

I got caught in a downpour two weeks ago that was enough to drown the wheelchair’s electronics, but not Ari. Of course I did her closed until I could dry her off, but she kept doing her thing. As the commercials say, that’s amazing.

Scott

Leave a Reply

