Vocalizer Expressive

Stefan,

Well yes, just getting any response from you is something. Getting anyone at Nuance to respond at all has been an oncoming battle.

Seeing the source code for VEDEMO is logically the next step for me. I’ve made no secret of the fact that my own application, Xpress-It, was based on the demo app for Eloquence. Of course, Xpress-It quickly became much more intelligent, with adaptive word prediction and so on, but the UI was intentionally kept very simple to look at. The job of Xpress-It is literally to speak for me.

When will the source code for VEDEMO be available? That’s a question any project manager should be able to answer, at least within the vagaries of any project.

As for getting access to the SDK again, I seem to dimly recall that Rachel has something to do with sales. If so, I expect her hand to pop out momentarily for more money since I’m going to be moving from an “evaluator” to “developer.” Sigh, that is what it is. I seriously doubt I’ll ever sell a single copy of Xpress-It or whatever the new version is, but SDK developer companies tend to assume that application developers have plenty of money. Again, it is what it is. (Hi Rachel, J)

Stefan, you’ll learn in subsequent email more about who I am, and how I utilize Eloquence (and eventually Vocalizer Expressive). For now, I’ll close with this factoid. The reason why I’m phasing out Eloquence is simply because Nuance end-of-life’d it without ever releasing a 64-bit version. The Windows environment is increasingly 64 bit, to the point that there’s no more 32-bit ODBC, and Xpress-It is heavily ODBC. Yeah. Oh.

Scott

From: Hamerich, Stefan [mailto:Stefan.Hamerich@nuance.com]
Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 08:57
To: royall@conchbbs.com; Elias, Rachel
Cc: De Moortel, Jan
Subject: RE: Vocalizer Expressive

Hi,

Here is a hello from me then. J

VEDEMO is a vehicle to demonstrate what can be done with our TTS engine.

But we are going to provide the source code of it.

We do provide sample code and a documentation which do allow to implement all the functionalities.

Creating a UI around should not be too complicated.

Sorry, but nothing more I can do here

Best regards

Stefan

From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall]
Sent: Mittwoch, 16. April 2014 04:59
To: Elias, Rachel
Cc: De Moortel, Jan; Hamerich, Stefan
Subject: RE: Vocalizer Expressive

Well yeah, let’s see if they even say “hello” to me first! They can at least see what I’m generally doing and what direction I need to head.

From: Elias, Rachel [mailto:Rachel.Elias]
Sent: Tuesday, April 15, 2014 21:04
To: royall
Cc: De Moortel, Jan; Hamerich, Stefan
Subject: RE: Vocalizer Expressive

Hi Scott – I would like to introduce you to product managers for Vocalizer Expressive. Maybe they can help you? –Rachel

Leave a Reply

