Ari

Her final moments.

From: Lourez Bullock [mailto:lourez_bullock@sbcglobal.net]
Sent: Thursday, May 21, 2015 17:08
To: ‘Scott Royall’
Subject: RE: Ari

Sad day – I can’t think of her without crying, because I don’t think she was ever well-suited to the job she was tasked with. Lord knows what she endured under the original “trainer”. I will say I was so grateful for the response of the WalMart folks. They really stepped up in a nasty situation. It was just too little, too late. The Emergency vet felt most likely her temp had spiked much higher than we first guessed (because it was still at 103.7 when admitted) The damage to organs had already begun. When I got to the clinic this morning, they brought me up to date again on her responses to treatment and it was clearly in her best interests to let her go quickly and painlessly. They let me have as long as I wanted (to talk to her, stroke her and tell her what a sweet girl she had been). They had given her a small dose of sedative shortly before I arrived, and she seemed peaceful, although breathing was a little forced. I stroked her, let her smell my fingers and spoke softly near her ears. She seemed very relaxed and we felt it was the right time to ease her on her way. She went quickly, peacefully. I sat with her for several minutes more, until her body cooled and I really felt she was free from her body’s betrayal. The young vet and ER staff members were very solicitous. I don’t know what else could have been done for her.

I can stop by tomorrow and bring you her collar, service dog I.D., the neck device you use to “call” the dogs, etc. I have already paid for the cremation, etc., so will still collect the ashes when delivered. You may change your mind in the meantime – if not I’ll do something for her. She tried and I think she deserves some recognition of her passing so sadly.

Mom

From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall]
Sent: Thursday, May 21, 2015 12:52 PM
To: Scott Royall
Subject: RE: Ari

She’s gone.

RIP Arena Von Funken Spiel.

From: Scott Royall [mailto:royall]
Sent: Thursday, May 21, 2015 12:17
To: lourez_bullock
Cc: kb5ziv; KateL; hipchick1; al; funkenspiel; michael.wrenn; ‘Michelle Arthurs’; matt.randall
Subject: Ari

Mom,

No, I can’t say that I will want her ashes back. There doesn’t seem to be a point. I do wish I could see her one last time to comfort her and say goodbye, but that isn’t an option here in this case. Agreed, this is heartbreaking, but then her whole life was rather heartbreaking. She was a beautiful dog who was never comfortable in her own body. Avoidance seemed the only motivation she really understood, and that made her virtually impossible to train. What people mistook for fine training was really just her desire to avoid problems. Following me around and coming when summoned were about all she learned here. I am not even certain if she actually loved me or just saw me as a source of security. Some irony there, eh?

Honestly, what she was asked to do yesterday seemed consistent with fairly recent errands, but clearly something made it much harder for her. I only wish I could be with her to ease her final hours and assure her she’s not in trouble. If anything, all her troubles are behind her now.

Scott

Leave a Reply

