Xpress-it

Roger,

Yes, I remember your call from a few trading net sessions, and no doubt you’ve heard me use Xpress-It on-air. Thank you for your email inquiry.

I sympathize with your sister’s situation; I think few people truly appreciate just how fundamental the capability for fluid verbal communication is to everyday life. Sadly, I cannot legally even give you a copy of Xpress-It without the consent of the current owners of the property rights for the speech engine Xpress-It is built on. I encourage you to go read my past posts in my blog at conchbbs.com regarding Xpress-It, Eloquence, Vocalizer, and Expressive. Those blog entries tell a long and sorted tale that still doesn’t have a happy ending. I’m nearing the end of my time, and it would be nice to see my creation go on to help others who need it. That can’t happen, though, unless the rights holders seriously rethink their present focus. I did evaluate their successor to the Eloquence speech engine and agree it sounds somewhat more “natural,” but that’s achieved at the expense of the versatility that makes Eloquence–and thus, Xpress-It–work so well. In the wake of the fiasco with Windows 8, Microsoft re-committed to supporting 32-bit software like Eloquence for the foreseeable future, thereby deleting my most pressing reason to convert Xpress-It to use the less-capable 64-bit replacement speech engine.

For your sister’s purposes, there are several other packages that should suffice for her needs. Those packages aren’t versatile enough for use in business environments, but residential situations are supposedly less demanding. Unfortunately, those packages start out at twice what I planned to charge for an Xpress-It license, but insurance will generally cover it ironically because the healthcare industry is accustomed to those products.

I’m so sorry, I wish I was permitted to help more directly.

Scott

Leave a Reply

